Under the Table Books
Published Works

Under the Table Books (2009)

National Indie Award For Excellence In Literary FictionWinner of the 2010 National Indie Award For Excellence In Literary Fiction

Winner of the 2010 BAIPA (Bay Area Independent Publishers Association) Award for Best Fiction.

An unabridged audiobook edition of Under the Table Books is available from Audible.com

Haven to a goodly gang of social outcastes, visionaries, and highly original artists, Under the Table Books is both community center and grand experiment in pragmatic mysticism. The cast includes poets, musicians, master chefs, a ten-year-old genius, a former movie star, eighty-eight-year-old identical twins, and a homeless savant who may have once been the richest man on earth.

“If Lawrence Ferlinghetti and Lewis Carrol created a bookstore together, the place might very well resemble Under The Table Books. Under the Table Books by Todd WaltonTodd Walton takes you on a whimsical, lovingly detailed tour of a universe that is equal parts bookstore and state of mind; a literary counter cultural version of the StarWars bar, peopled with one-of-a-kind characters lucky enough to have found each other.”
      — Merrill Markoe, author of Walking In Circles Before Lying Down

“Embellished with the author's beguiling drawings, these stories add up to one great big story that knocked me out.”       — Bruce Anderson, The Anderson Valley Advertiser

“A splendid novel of great and magical stories.”
      — Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, author of The Hidden Life of Dogs

A handsome casebound edition is available from online bookstores and good bookstores everywhere. You may also purchase copies here for 7 dollars, signed or unsigned ( was $22.00).

Signed copies:

Unsigned copies:

UTTB charges a flat rate $5 shipping for orders in the USA. For orders to be shipped outside the USA, please contact us for a shipping quote.

Be sure to visit this site's Listen Page, where you can listen to Todd reading “The News”, a chapter from Under the Table Books. and a substantial sample from the audiobook edition of this work


contact us


website by Garth Hagerman